Finding Jesus

May 3, 2010

The following is an excerpt from and article written by Angela Gonzalez and Mike Sunnucks published on Portfolio.com – April 30, 2010.

A few days before Arizona Senate Bill 1070 was signed into law, James Garcia dropped his cell phone while driving home from work late at night. When he pulled over to retrieve it, he saw flashing lights in his rear-view mirror.

When an officer wearing a brown uniform knocked on his passenger window, “my impulse was to think, ‘I’m going to be harassed,’” said Garcia, founder and producing artistic director of Phoenix-based New Carpa Theater Co.

As it turns out, the officer wasn’t part of Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio’s posse, but an Arizona Department of Public Safety officer asking if Garcia needed any help.

While he wasn’t harassed or profiled as he feared, Garcia said it’s wrong that he feels this way because of the anti-immigrant climate in Arizona.

The state’s new immigration law “essentially sends the message to the Latino community that you are not welcome in the country you were born in and live in and contribute to,” he said. “That’s great harm to who we are as a people in regard to our ability to live and work and prosper.”

While reading about the events described in the article Driving While Hispanic, I couldn’t help but ask myself, “Where is Jesus new commandment in all this?”

“My children, I will be with you only a little while longer. I give you a new commandment: love one another. As I have loved you, so you also should love one another. This is how all will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35

I have a request for Jesus: Please hurry back.

3 Responses to “Finding Jesus”

  1. David Says:

    I love your reflections most of the time, but had to comment on this one. I have a question for you: Why do you think we don’t love hispanics just because we want them to enter the country legally? I don’t want unfettered access on either border, and expect our guests to be treated with dignity, just as any guest should be. But “guest” implies that they’re leaving. Also, did you know that in any country abroad, you can be stopped and asked for proof of identity, and proof that you belong where you are at the moment you’re stopped?
    I’m not saying that the law enacted is the perfect way of doing things, but if people treat each other with dignity, this wouldn’t be happening. By the way, dignity encompasses respecting the rights of other people. It’s a two-way street. God bless.

  2. Kin Robles Says:

    David,

    Thank you for commenting on my post. Dialogue is vital for all of us. I will respond because I want you to understand my perspective… not to debate.

    I agree that there is a legal way to enter the country and that maintaining the process enables us to continue to assist many in need. It’s how we go about maintaining the process and the dignity of all that concerns me.

    As I recently posted on GNTG, men will continue to disappoint. We are imperfect beings. We often act in imperfect ways. I’ve posed questions more than once about where Jesus teaching/example exists in our actions.

    I honestly don’t believe we do enough to actively consider “What would Jesus do?” There wasn’t much dignity or love in Executive Order 9066 that led to the loss of property and incarceration of documented American citizens in camps like Manzanar.

    Immigration is not an easy issue. It never has been. Speaking as one who’s family heritage is Irish-railroad building Euro-Hispanic, I’m concerned that the civil liberties that make this country a beacon for “your tired, your poor, huddled masses…” be maintained.

    As much as I love them, I don’t want undocumented Canadians streaming across the border unfettered. Just the other day I had the impulse to question the status of someone working down at the Jamba Juice because I overheard her say, “So yerr back fer another one of those Orange Dream Machines, heh?” Ordinarily I wouldn’t jump to profiling but she sure sounded fresh across the border from Saskatchewan.

    Seriously though, David, I’m with you on the dignity wagon. I just don’t know that we as imperfect beings can deliver. Thank you for asking the question.

    peace

    • David Says:

      Being married to a kinda hispanic (Philipina), I have to tell you that I really work hard to love all people, even those I don’t particularly like. I do try to see it from their perspective. Where I’m really hacked off is at the US Government, who didn’t learn from the one mistake Reagan made in his 8 years (IMHO) in office. First thing, find a humane way to close and control the border. Then, after that, you can work to process those here under a general amnesty. Oh, what’s the use. I just pray for the safety of those involved. God bless you Kin.

Leave a comment